my home town

In the days following my last post, I've been thinking about things to write for here, but ultimately ended up not writing any. My dogs, a family trip, romantic delusions and similar things went through my head but didn't make it to the pen and paper - or keyboard and screen.

So I'll talk about worldbuilding and my home town(without any preparation for it). Because I feel like it.

Everywhere i see people complaining about their homeplace, being it their country, city or district. People like to complain, I don't blame them. And they have their reasons and lots of complaints are valid and even true. But something that catches my eye is how my city is seen as an ugly place.

I live in São Paulo, this gigantic urban mass of land and busy people located directly at an even bigger comedy show stage in South America: Brazil. [funny picture of brasil] Things here are pretty chaotic: transit everywhere, overcrowded buses, overcrowded trains, also the streets, pretty much everywhere is overcrowded.

The city has a lot of places and I can't describe even half of them, but I can talk a little of the zone I live: the Eastern Zone, Zona Leste in portuguese, and ZL for people who really identify with it. Ranging from not poor to really poor, it looks like a mix of an ever changing street culture and a generic cashgrab cyberpunk movie. The poorer areas are more like the first, while the latter applies more to the rich wannabe districts like Tatuapé.

The looks are very interesting. Since most houses are made of bricks and concrete, an orange/grey color scheme is present in certain areas like hills, highlighting the painted houses. Close to avenues, houses and commercial buildings tend to be more complex, but not necessarily bigger. Broken asphalt, cut wires, broken glass and dirtiness cover the streets, while graffiti and pixo take the walls, signs and other surfaces.

Pixo: brazilian form of art that consists in writing stylized letters in surfaces. May be a love confession, a message for passerbys, a political protest, be a gang sign, or be completely unreadable! The more you know...

Nights in São Paulo are a never ending show of lights that follow you left and right. Cars, houses, trains, lamp posts, traffic light, bikes, adboards, bbq carts, everything wants to shine a light on your evolved monkey face, but the starts you actually wanna see are covered by pollution. That's sad.

It's a very noisy place, like any metropolis, and people like to stay until late to hang out and party which makes sleeping a little hard in so. Sometimes, it may be because they're singing and playing songs you don't like at 1am, or even worse, they're playing songs you like and you're singing with them in your room despite having to work next morning.

The city smells consistently of smoke and-

Okay GG, we got it!! \(>o<)/

What does this wall of text have to do with worldbuilding?!

Mwah, I was about to finish! Just needed to talk about the climate, the trees, the color of the cars, the churches, parks, bus stops and a little more stuff...

Anyway, I thought on doing this brief description because, as I said, people usually don't like my city and the characteristics I mentioned. And honestly, it sucks how they can't see beauty in anything, almost as if they want to see São Paulo as a hellscape they're stuck in. I could write on this some other day.

I think it's worthy to try seeing at least some beauty in this chaotic place. Even in simple things, like neighbors planting trees, the nice colors of the sunrise, the cute drawings on the walls, there is a lot to be seen, and I think people seem to ignore that in their busy routines.

For the sake of organization, I'll (finally) elaborate on the worldbuilding part. Because, I like making fictional places, so... what if I created a city based on my own?

Continues on {this link i'll add once i post it}

more texts home

made by GG(of course)

GG's cute lil button